Turn, turn, turn

Unlike many people I love change. I like to repaint, redecorate, rethink and try new things. Change. In my world there definitely is a season to all things.

It’s been a few months since I have gotten out my sewing machine. What was once a daily routine of sewing now seems like a chore that is easily put off. I’m sure I will still be inspired to create Christmas presents for my grandchildren or some cute project that I spied on Pinterest but for now, my needle and thread have been replaced by scissors and glue.

It’s been five years now that I have been taking a continuing education class at our local community college. It’s titled “Painting and More”. I love watercolors and I have learned a lot but the “More” part is where I have found my new passion.

Our teacher plans class projects each semester. One week our instructions were to create a piece of art using torn or cut paper. I jumped right in and ended up with a piece I titled New York Strip. Amazingly, I won third place at the college spring art show. Here it is –

Since then my desk has been littered with snips of paper and my stash of magazine pages has grown to incredible heights. I’m gearing up for my next show right now and trying to decide which collage to enter. I think it’s going to be this not yet named piece –

As a result of finding the courage to walk into that art class I have made many new friends, joined a few art organizations, won a few prizes and made many changes to my life. Change can be scary but it can also be exciting. Jump in and make change a part of your life.

Leave a comment